CMR IX National Moot Court Competition, 2024

May 3, 2024 - May 4, 2024

CMR IX National Moot Court Competition, 2024

Download CMR IX NMCC 2024 Brochure

CMR University’s School of Legal Studies successfully concluded the IXth National Moot Court Competition, witnessing participation from 14 colleges and 42 students nationwide. The event was inaugurated by Hon’ble Justice Mr. P. S. Dinesh Kumar, Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court.

The moot court focused on the Smartphones (Regulation and Marketing) Act, 2024, challenging its constitutionality and balancing consumer protection with producer rights. The two-day competition underscored skills in legal reasoning and courtroom procedures, ending with final rounds adjudicated by esteemed Karnataka High Court judges including Hon’ble Justice B.A. Patil, Chairman, Karnataka Land Grabbing Prohibition Special Courts & Former Judge, High Court Of Karnataka, Hon’ble Justice C.M. Joshi, Judge, High Court Of Karnataka, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ashok G.NI Jagannavar, Member, Law Commission Of Karnataka & Former Judge, High Court Of Karnataka and Hon’ble Mr. Justice P.N. Desai,Former Judge, High Court Of Karnataka.

Dr. K.C. Ramamurthy,IPS (Retd)Former Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, Chairman CMR University and CMR Group of Institutions, remarked, “Moot courts are not just about legal battles; they are crucibles where future legal luminaries are shaped, equipped to handle the rapid advancements in technology and legal frameworks.”. The event was also graced with the presence of Sri KC Jaganatha Reddy, Secretary of CMRJT, Dr. Praveen R, the Registrar, and Dr. V.J. Praneshwaran, Director of SOLS.

Highlights of the valedictory function included speeches from the justices, emphasizing the importance of litigation skills and the societal roles of legal practice.The event continued with the distribution of participation certificates and the announcement of awards, including Best Speaker, Best Researcher, and Best Memorial. The K.L.E Society’s Law College, Bangalore, emerged as the winner for the event with University Law College as the runner-up.

The Winners from KLE’s Society Law College, Mr. Bharath, Ms. B. Chandralekha, KM, and Mr. Pratheek M, were awarded a cash prize of Rs 40,000 along with certificates and a trophy.

The Runners-up from University Law College and the Department of Studies in Law, Bangalore University, Ms. Navodita, Ms. K.M. Meghana Manoj, and Ms. Ashal Menezes, were awarded a cash prize of Rs 30,000 along with certificates and a trophy.

The Best Researcher from University Law College, Ms. Ashal Menezes, was awarded a cash prize of Rs 10,000 along with certificates and a trophy.

The Best Memorial from Symbiosis Law School, Pune, featuring Mr. Pradeep Reddy, Ms. Prachi Mehta, and Ms. Gauri Aggarwal, was awarded a cash prize of Rs 10,000 along with certificates and a trophy.

The Best Speaker from JSS Law College, Ms. Nikitha SM, was awarded a cash prize of Rs 10,000 along with certificates and a trophy.

The event emphasized the crucial role of moot courts in shaping the future generation of legal professionals, highlighting them as invaluable training grounds. It also underscored the importance for aspiring lawyers to adapt to technological advancements reshaping legal practices. This recognition mirrors the evolving landscape of the legal profession, emphasizing the necessity for students to develop versatile skills to succeed in modern legal environments.

The CMR National Moot Court Competition, the flagship event at CMR University, School of Legal Studies is a biennial event that witnesses participation by premier legal institutions in the country. This competition attempts to facilitate the development of skills of interpretation and legal reasoning in the participating students, with a benign hope of encouraging them to achieve greater heights.

The previous edition of the same was held in the year 2022.

< Back to Calendar of Events

View Event Poster

For Event Updates

Image Gallery